So, a storm that is being compared to a nor’easter tore through my town last Saturday.  Trees were down, lights were out, rivers crested, food spoiled, and the beer was warm.  It was one of your basic ‘not fun’ situations.  Our power came back on Tuesday, with a mere two hours before Lost was to air.  I was prepared to barge into a friend’s house, and am glad it didn’t come to that, because I like my TV.  It was great that they got the power back on, but at the same time (for me at least) it was sort of annoying, because the speed at which the PSEG workers accomplished it was astounding.  They rolled onto my street with two massive utility trucks with two cherry pickers and around eight workers.  I thought they needed to evacuate homes, rip up the street, re-wire the whole block.  It just took one guy a moment to shimmy up a pole, reattach some wires, and climb down.  Electricity had returned!  I was plugged back in and could rejoin the memetically-controlled masses. Hurrah!

So, I had some time to think in the dark about Lost as I ate my Whole Foods organic ice cream sandwiches, which I refused to allow to melt.  I came up with a few thoughts/ ideas that are worth mulling before Richard Alpert’s episode on Tuesday.

The island, what is it really?  There are of course many religious and mythological themes on and relating to the island.  The hieroglyphics, design of the temples, the Eden-like quality of the island granting health and rejuvenation all lead us in a very Biblical direction.  The island must be the seat of some being that began it all, right?  God is from the island, and it a sort of heaven on Earth, right?  Maybe.

You could even theorize that the island itself is God, or a god at least.  On numerous occasions, the island has spoke to John and whether it be blatant communication or subtle prodding, the island has shown a sentience.  Could the island be the being/ place/ primordial ooze from which mankind emerged?   Possible.

In the ancient world mankind created gods for things they didn’t understand.  There was a fire god, an air god, a god of death, a sun god, a fertility god, we could go on forever.  These were concepts and forces of nature that man felt helpless before, and needed to apply some sort of personification or human control to, so as to alleviate their fears and frustrations when a crop was barren or a flood took their home.  Or—-, in the Lost world at least, these gods did exist.  They were beings of magic that helped mankind evolve and grow into the American Idol watching people that they become in the 21st century.  As man grew and discovered science, mathematics, etc. the need for these beings lessened.  They faded into obscurity and became passé.  Who needs a god of the sun when we can send a man to the moon, or a god of the harvest when we have hydroponics?  But, what if one of these deities just said ‘no’ and chose to not fade away.  Further, what if it/he/she chose to remain in a place where this deity’s ‘powers’ would still be necessary to the people around it, saaaaay on a deserted island?  The people on this island would feed its ancient ego by acknowledging it’s protection, food, shelter, etc. and being thankful for it.  The island deity, to prolong the love felt by the followers and believers would grant back to the people, extended life spans, health, and even the love of a parent?  I realize I’m getting a little abstract here, but so is Lost.

Magic as applied to the Lost universe:

Magic, once it was a common excuse for what was wrong in the world.

A frost killed your harvest?  Hmmmm.  I bet it was old Mary Steward on the next farm.  I heard she was a witch and she put a hex on you!

Was it that simple though?  Every culture in every corner of the planet has similar magics in their histories.  It might be Chinese dragons, or Merlin consulting with the king, or trolls under bridges, or witches eating children in the woods.  Where did all of these stories come from.  Was magic real at one point?  When you are a child Magic is as real as the lessons you learn in school.  In one class you might learn reading and writing, and later at home you watch cartoons and actually believe that a Woody and Buzz Lightyear go on adventures together.  When I was a kid I read a lot of comics.  The X-men was my favorite, and I tried on more than one occasion to move an object with my mind.  Whenever I had a ‘falling dream’ and woke to a shock as I hit the bed and my heart was thumping a million miles an hour, I wondered, “Was I floating over my bed in my sleep?”  Crazy?  Not to a kid with an active imagination and a complete X-men collection!

What if the collective ‘growing up’ of the human race led to the scientific method, logical thinking, problem solving skills, and an independence that no longer knee jerked to the conclusion that a wizard or witch is responsible for all of my problems.  And, what if that ‘growing up’ of the world in the Lost universe led to the elimination of magic?  It no longer had a place in everyday life.  Who needs magic if you have facebook?  If magic existed, it would be a sort of energy.  Where would all that energy go?  Maybe it would all go to an island, an island where it is still needed and that island would be a Never-Never Land where people still play pirates, and Indians, and go on adventures, and miracles would happen, and no one would ever have to grow up.  Hmmmm?  But what if the children of Never-Never Land did grow up?  What if they had magic their whole life and they grew up and had all of the hang-ups, shortcomings, and pettiness that adults grow to have.  They would want all the magic for themselves.  They would probably be named Charles Widmore.

Well, that’s it for today.  I have a Pulp Fiction/ Lost idea that I’ll share next time.

Thanks for reading!  Sorry if I rambled…

